Hunter Education is available at United Sportsmen Incorporated
Hunter Education is coordinated by Jim and Kathy Clark, with instructors certified by the California Department of Fish and Wildlife. United Sportsmen does not handle their schedule or any aspects of their classes, other than to provide classroom facilities for the benefit of our members and the public who wish to obtain a hunter education certificate. The State of California requires all first time resident hunters, regardless of age, to complete hunter education training or pass a comprehensive equivalency test before purchasing a hunting license.
About Hunter Education
Hunter Education teaches you respect for the resource, the firearm, the law, the landowner, yourself, and the future of hunting.
The Hunter Education course consists of classroom instruction, homework, and field instruction in the following areas: firearms safety and handling, sportsmanship and ethics, as well as wildlife management and conservation science. Archery, black powder, wildlife identification, game care and survival are also discussed. The course is offered in two formats, “traditional” (entire course in-person) and “online” (the last 4 hours of the course are in person).
The State of California requires resident hunters, regardless of age, to complete hunter education training. Additionally, an increasing number of states will issue you a hunting license only if you can produce a hunter education certificate. In those states, it is not adequate to provide a copy of a prior hunting license.
To successfully earn the hunter education certificate, the student must complete the course while demonstrating the ability to follow firearms safety principles, good sportsmanship and the ability to stay focused and attentive. If the instructor believes the student has shown these characteristics, the course concludes with a 100 question test which requires a score of at least 80% to pass.
After a student has successfully completed the course of instruction and passed the final examination, they are awarded a Hunter Education Certificate on the last night of class. The student can then acquire a hunting license.
Parents are encouraged to participate with their children in the course and its’ related activities. There is not a minimum age requirement to take the course, but the test fail-rate increases markedly for students below age 11 (traditional class) and 13 (on-line class).
Hunter Education Courses at USI
Classes are offered at the United Sportsmen gun club in their Hunter Education classroom located on the training range. When entering United Sportsmen, there might be a “Range Closed” sign at the base of the driveway — if so just ignore the sign and keep driving. Drive past the rifle and pistol ranges on your right and look for the signs pointing to the Hunter Education classroom. Turn right at the sign and park your car in the gravel lot without driving past the cyclone fence. If the gravel lot is full, you may park up in the main lot closer to the pistol range.
Enter the classroom through the door on the opposite side of the building from the action pistol range. Please do not approach from the range-side — especially if the red flag is flying. Bring a flashlight as it is dark after class and it will help you safely find your way back to your car.
Our traditional course meets over a period of 5 evenings in a two week period. Each session is 3 hours long and meets from 6:30PM to 9:30PM . You must attend all 5 nights to complete the course and take the exam. There are no exceptions to this rule.
The cost of the course is $10 cash per student which we pass-on to the range to cover facility costs.
There is a live fire exercise in the second week of the traditional course. Students will go out to the range in small groups with an instructor to shoot 10 rounds with a .22 caliber rifle. Students also simulate fence crossings and maintaining safe zones of fire.
Online pre-registration is REQUIRED and will open thirty (30) days before the class meeting. Within thirty (30) of the class, registration is available HERE:
Traditional Course Registration
Traditional Class Dates: HUNTER ED HAS ENDED FOR 2016
Students should know their social security number for the Department of Fish and Game form. We will also need a parent or guardian signature on the form for students under the age of 18.
There is no minimum age requirement in California to take the course, but all students must be able to sit and pay attention through 15 hours of instruction and follow firearms safety principles. Parents are strongly encouraged to attend class with their young students. Be cautioned that the fail-rate increases markedly at age 11 and below – but parental support can be key. This course, taken in 3 hour increments and with a weekend in-between, can be a good one for youth and those with less experience.
At the conclusion of the course, students take a 100 question multiple choice and true false exam. A minimum score of 80% on the exam, plus the ability to pay attention and follow safe firearms handling principles, are required to successfully complete the program and receive a Hunter’s Safety Education certificate. The certificate will be issued at the time of successful completion. Students may then go online to www.dfg.ca.gov/licensing/ols/ or visit any facility selling Hunting Licenses and purchase their license. There is no minimum age to hunt upland game, waterfowl and small game (requiring no tag) in California, however the minimum age to hunt most big game is 12.
If our course dates and schedule do not meet your needs, you can also view the details of traditional courses offered at other locations at www.dfg.ca.gov/huntered/classes.aspx .
Online Review Course:
The online option for completing the Hunter Education requirement allows you to take all but four hours of the course online. Our four hour sessions to complete the online class begin promptly at 6:00 pm on class nights.
If you arrive late, you will not be admitted to the class. Freeway traffic to USI can be very heavy, so please allow extra travel time to the facility.
The class fee for the four hour session is $10 in cash, which is passed on to USI as a facility fee.
Online pre-registration is REQUIRED and will open thirty (30) days before the class meeting. Within thirty (30) of the class, registration is available HERE: Online Review Course Registration
Online Review Class Dates: HUNTER ED HAS ENDED FOR 2016
Online courses are not designed to save time but to allow students greater time-management flexibility in completing the total requirement. Past students tell us the online work will likely take plus-or-minus around 8 hours.
While there are a few different online courses accepted in California, we recommend that you take the course from www.hunter-ed.com/california/ (there is a $24.50 fee to take the online exam), or from www.huntercourse.com/usa/california (there is a $24.95 fee to take the online exam). They are the most comprehensive courses that cover California regulations which are addressed through several questions on the final examination. If you decide to take the course from www.homestudy.ihea.com, please contact us so that we can explain what you will need to print to prove that you have completed the course. Also bear in mind, the at IHEA course does not cover California specific regulations which will be on the final exam.
On all of the sites mentioned above, students complete the online study and take the online exam at their own pace. Once the online exam has been completed and you have scored at least an 80%, you will be asked to pay the fee and be given the opportunity to print a pre-certification voucher. You must be sure to print the proof of complettion voucher and bring it to class.
You must then complete a four hour review course in-person with a Hunter Education Instructor and take the final examination. The instructor will review significant points including firearms handling and then will administer the final exam.
The on-line final exam is similar to, but more difficult than, the traditional exam. It is 100 questions, with multiple choice and fill in the blank questions (no true/false). Young students are not prohibited from taking the course online however, the fail rate for students age 13 and below is higher than in the traditional course. The student must obtain a minimum score of 80%, plus demonstrate the ability to pay attention and follow safe firearms handling principles to succesfully complete the program. The certificate will be issued at the time of successful completion. Students may then go online to www.dfg.ca.gov/licensing/ols/ or visit any facility selling Hunting Licenses and purchase their license.
Please bring your printed pre-certification voucher and be sure to know the last four digits of your social security number for the Department of Fish & Game.
If our class dates and times do not meet your needs, details regarding on-line classes at other locations can be seen at www.dfg.ca.gov/huntered/classes.aspx .
You can contact the Clarks via email at: firstname.lastname@example.org